Little Fish


Bankstown Net

Bankstown Facts and Historical Information

  • In 1795, Matthew Flinders, then a Royal Navy Midshipman, together with George Bass, and William Martin guided their eight foot Tom Thumb up the winding Georges River to discover Bankstown.

  • The naming of Banks' Town was in honour of Sir Joseph Banks, who sailed with Captain James Cook from 1768-1771.

  • In 1836, the Lansdowne Bridge was opened by Governor Burke. It cost 1000 pounds to build, by convict labour. The stone was quarried from opposite East Hills Park and punted upstream with the tide.

  • The first Bankstown Council election took place on 2 November 1895. There was only 884 electors on the roll.

  • Bankstown was proclaimed a City on 27 May 1980, during the visit of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

  • The first Post Office to open in Bankstown was on 1 April 1863.

  • The railway from Belmore to Bankstown was opened on 14 April 1909.

  • Bankstown is home to 293 parks and reserves made up of 223 parks, 41 sports grounds, 12 general community parks and 18 natural areas, covering a total of over 730 hectares.

  • Padstow was originally named Padstow Park when a Post Office opened in 1927. It changed its name in 1939 to Padstow. The name Padstow was adopted from a seaside town in Cornwall, England. The Georges River runs behind the whole suburb's extension - Padstow Heights.

    Many more facts will be uploaded in the next few days.

Historical Moment
Bankstown received it's first Police Station and the services of a constable in 1892.




1999 - present. Australian Media Pty Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Please read our Legal Statement and Privacy Policy.